Prof. Terry Shank slept in class again today.  I apologize for the poor quality of the picture.  The room was dark, since another movie was on.  However, I’m sure that over the next five weeks I’ll have many more opportunities to document this disgrace.

(The only alteration done to the picture, by the way, was to lighten and crop it in GIMP.)

Today we “learned” about particles like protons and electrons.  We learned what determines an element’s atomic number, and what makes it an element.  Then we spent about an hour watching the *sequel* to What the &^%$( Do We Know?”.

One of the first things he mentioned yesterday was the importance of recognizing junk science–but I guess when science gets confused and tries to be religion, he doesn’t mind so much.

To answer the question I would certainly also be asking, no, I have not spoken to him about any of the problems I have with this charade.  First of all, where would I begin? With his verbally treating members of the class like animals by “Ah-ah-ah”-ing them?  With his naps? With the constant movies?  With the fact that he’s starting the course in high school for any student from West Virginia or North Carolina (the only two school systems I can definitely affirm require basic science courses to graduate)?

I’m not going to drop the course or stop going to it.  I am extremely ready to be graduated.  Regardless of what everyone from West Virginia seems to think, however, I believe that when one encounters something wrong, one should try to fix it!.

One good thing to come from the past couple days is that I now realize how deeply fortunate I was to be tested as academically gifted at a young age.  Barring last semester’s breakdown, the only courses I’ve ever failed were the ones that bored me, that didn’t challenge me.  And I’m sort of sorry if this offends anyone or causes them to laugh at me, but I not only refuse to, I cannot comprehend being the “typical” college student who is eager and happy to have an “easy” class, one that does not teach, does not challenge, in which nothing is learned, the classes where you pay your money and serve your time and get your B on the other side.  I’m actually here to learn.  I always have been.  Getting back to my gratitude for passing that AG test, I realized this today:

If I had failed the AG test

and been put in classes this bad or close

for ten years

I’d be shocked if I didn’t drop out, too.  I, or anyone who cared to, could learn more and better by going to the library and reading a book.  Not only am I not learning, I am actively prevented from learning by being forced to spend my time listening to this placeholder instead of doing something worthwhile.

I’ve had people tell me that this is just a hurdle to be jumped.  What a cowardly way to avoid confronting the fact that Marshall is utterly failing its community as a school and as a business–if a mechanic charged me almost a thousand dollars and then napped in front of me–I can’t logically finish this example, because no mechanic who did anything other than fix your car after charging you that much money would ever get any work!

If he sleeps again tomorrow, I’ll send that email to the deans.  Apparently nothing will come of it, but if that’s the case, I do know how to reach the local newspaper and television stations.

